Oft Hidden

“Our hearts are drunk with a beauty our eyes could never see.” ~ George W. Russell … 

Generally, when we go about looking for beauty in life, we find it. And yet, we usually only find a fraction of the beauty around us–a single grain of sand on the beaches of the ocean. For in the absence of the awareness of our hearts, our eyes are not looking at the beauty of life; and in those times, what we fail to see as beauty… still is beauty.

Those moments in which I am able to recognize the vastness of beauty before me–the laughter of a child, the smell of the ocean breeze, the tranquility and peace of a forest, the serenity of the nighttime sky–I find it is my heart that truly perceives the beauty before me. My eyes see it and my ears hear it, but it is through my awareness within that I really come to experience it–mind, body, and soul. If only I were to always see beauty from the heart!

And the love we experience between one another is very much the same. Sometimes when we meet a person and start dating, we are first attracted to their physical beauty and charms–beauty that our eyes can perceive, sweet words that our ears can hear. And yet as our love grows over time, we find that love to be much deeper than merely physical beauty–our hearts recognize the true beauty within that person’s soul, and in time they begin to overflow with that very same beauty. It truly is the person inside that we fall in love with.

Do I find beauty in everyone I see in life–in the deepness and wonder of his or her soul? Do I find it in everything around me? The endless sounds of nature and of music? In the multitudes of hues of colors that fill our world? In the warm touch of a handshake, or the caring embrace of a friend? If not, what is keeping me from seeing this beauty?

Look for the oft hidden beauty that surrounds you.

Questions to consider:

What things may keep us from seeing the beauty that is always around us?

What is the value of beauty in your life?

How can we share beauty with others, thus enriching their lives?

For further thought:

“One summer night, out on a flat headland, all but surrounded by the waters of the bay, the horizons were remote and distant rims on the edge of space. Millions of stars blazed in darkness, and on the far shore a few lights burned in cottages. Otherwise there was no reminder of human life. My companion and I were alone with the stars: the misty river of the Milky Way flowing across the sky, the patterns of the constellations standing out bright and clear, a blazing planet low on the horizon. It occurred to me that if this were a sight that could be seen only once in a century, this little headland would be thronged with spectators. But it can be seen many scores of nights in any year, and so the lights burned in the cottages and the inhabitants probably gave not a thought to the beauty overhead; and because they could see it almost any night, perhaps they never will.” ~ Rachel Carson

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

