Daily Archives: 2 August 2017

You Get What You Give

“In every waking moment, it is our next choice that makes us who we are.” ~ Melissa McPhail, Cephrael’s Hand … 

Melissa’s words here can serve to inspire and motivate us to self-improvement if we take them to heart. The choices that we make help to define us–as well as our interactions with others–each day of our lives. And since our attitudes are what affect our choices and what affect others around us the most, I wish to concentrate on them in particular.

Our lives are inextricably linked to the lives of others in this world. The choices I make will directly affect the people in my life. If someone I do not know smiles and greets me and I do not acknowledge them, my actions will have a negative effect on that person, if only for a few moments. However, if I do acknowledge them, and perhaps offer a friendly greeting back, my actions will have a very positive effect on them. Furthermore, my actions may have additionally affected the way that person interacts with others for the rest of the day. Thus, every single positive, or negative, action we do could form a very similarly charged chain reaction.

This is another case in life where the old saying, “you get what you give,” seems to apply. So what do I give? Do I spread loving kindness? Or do I spread a brushfire of negativity that burns the good harvests of others around me?

If we are able to spread loving kindness, we will find that our lives are transformed in the process. Our thoughts will be focused on positive thoughts and feelings and we will find happiness and contentment in our lives.

Offer a positive attitude to those you interact with today.

Questions to consider:

What kind of attitude do you habitually share with the people in your life?

How does life change if your focus is on others? Can you try it for a day to find out?

What is your ultimate goal whilst you are alive on this Earth?

For further thought:

“Everything in the world we want to do or get done, we must do with and through people. Every dollar we will ever earn must come from people. The person we love, and with whom we want to spend the rest of our life, is a human being with whom we must interact. Our children are individuals, each different from any other person who ever lived. And what affects them most is our attitude–the loving kindness they see and feel whenever we are around them. If you’ll begin to develop and maintain an attitude that says yes to life and the world, you’ll be astonished at the changes you’ll see.” ~ Earl Nightingale

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion