Daily Archives: 17 July 2017

Be A Light

“The philosophies of men surround us. The face of sin today often wears the mask of tolerance. Do not be deceived; behind that facade is heartache, unhappiness, and pain. You know what is right and what is wrong, and no disguise, however appealing, can change that. Be the one to make a stand for right, even if you stand alone. Have the moral courage to be a light for others to follow.” ~ Thomas S. Monson … 

There is a beauty in the hearts of those who allow righteousness a home within, a calm peace that cannot exist without the symbiotic relationship of a righteous heart. And this can be so hard to find and to put into practice, for as Thomas points out, “the philosophies of men surround us,” sometimes even drown us. What society tells us is right is often times not so.

What is in my heart? I know there is some righteousness, but I cannot say that I always stand for what is right and follow my heart. When I am not conscious of my thoughts or actions, I often times find that I simply do what others are doing. It is easy to conform to society, to accept what seems popular at the time. But in these times, it is important for me to be a man of character, to have a heart full of righteousness. As Albert Einstein said, “What is right is not always popular and what is popular is not always right,” and as I look back at my actions for the day, I can find so much truth in these words.

I have to keep in mind, though, that there is no “universal righteousness.” What is righteous for me may not be so for you, and that is okay, as long as we are not hurting others. We each have our own hearts, our own thoughts, our own means of finding purpose, and we must be true to what we know inside to be true. And while priests, pastors, and ministers can talk a lot about what constitutes righteousness, the important thing is, that in our hearts, we know what is true and right.

Find the righteousness in your heart. Live by it. It may not always be the easiest thing to find, but if you can, it is a wonderful gift that we each have available to us each day of our lives.

Take a moment to ask yourself if your actions are righteous in all you do today.

Questions to consider:

How can the righteousness of one individual affect the entire world?

Do we always see the results of righteous living? What are some of the unseen results?

What are the lives of those who maintain righteousness in their life like?

For further thought:

“The theistic philosopher has a tendency to devalue insufficient worldviews, ideologies, and quite often common sense for the greater good, and in such cases, one should not be discouraged when seen as a bad guy. If he stresses over man’s perception of a righteous heart, then he has given his heart to man.” ~ Criss Jami

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion