Daily Archives: 8 July 2017

Embrace Peace

“If we have no peace, it is because we have forgotten that we belong to each other.” ~ Mother Teresa … 

So many of the problems we face in the world these days can be associated with our choice to ignore–or our inability to recognize–the common bonds of humanity we all share. This lack of awareness is a source of many of the travesties that we see in the news, much of the hate we fail to extinguish, and much of the hurt we allow to exist and to spread throughout our world. As Mother Teresa points out, peace comes to us when we hold each other in our hearts.

The times in my life when I find myself without peace, I usually find frustration, anger, or resentment in its stead. There is nothing healthy or positive for me in its absence–I find myself stressed out with a short fuse, my tension level goes up, even my perspectives on life are affected. I become someone who is not very helpful to those in my life, someone who is not at peace and therefore cannot spread peace to others.

The good news is we can reclaim our peace if we desire it. Peace is already there in our lives, and we should begin to seek it out in each other–in service towards our fellow man, in compassion, empathy, and love, in sharing in our joys and our sorrows, in recognizing that “we belong to each other.”

Perhaps our goal should be to find and keep that connection we share with our brothers and sisters alive in our hearts.

Find some peace today through interaction and service towards others.

Questions to consider:

Is there peace inside of you? Where is it today?

How can I help others more when I am at peace?

It seems that most of the things that we lose our peace over look much less important in retrospect. How can we try to see their true importance (or lack of importance) while they are affecting us, instead of after?

For further thought:

“You have peace,” the old woman said, “when you make it with yourself.” ~ Mitch Albom, The Five People You Meet in Heaven

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion