Daily Archives: 4 July 2017

True Nobility

“A proud man is always looking down on things and people; and, of course, as long as you are looking down, you cannot see something that is above you.” ~ C.S. Lewis … 

It is easy for me to find fault in others–to see their own shortcomings and failures and to find ways in which they could work on addressing them. But that is not going to help me rise above my own flaws. As C.S. Lewis points out, when I spend my energies on looking at the flaws of others, I mistakenly place my focus away from myself–away from that which I truly have the power to change.

Of course, the opposing virtue to pride is humility, and if I am able to add a little more humility into my life, then I will find it much simpler to add positively to the life of others as well as my own. This is, after all, an obligation of our humanity–as I discussed yesterday, serving others is the best way to define our lives and “etch in the lives and hearts of those we touch.”

I want to improve myself because that is what life is about–growth and development. My focus should be to become greater than my former self. Each morning I am blessed with the chance to become greater than the man I was yesterday, and this is something I should not take for granted.

Keep your head up. Look for the goodness and value in others. Find ways in which you can improve and enrich your life today. The return on investment will be well spent.

Find something positive about those you meet today.

Questions to consider:

How many people are affected by your actions each day, on any level? Is the effect that you have on them positive and helpful?

How can you improve yourself today? Tomorrow? This year?

What can you do today to make your current self a better self, even if it is on the smallest level possible?

For further thought:

“There is nothing noble in being superior to your fellow man; true nobility is being superior to your former self.” ~ Ernest Hemingway

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion