Embrace Positive Attitude

“You’re not going to make me have a bad day. If there’s oxygen on earth and I’m breathing, it’s going to be a good day.” ~ Cotton Fitzsimmons … 

This is a perspective that I strongly desire in my life–to choose to embrace an attitude of gratitude that always looks at the day as another chance to live life to the fullest. And in truth, there is no good reason not to, for our happiness in life truly is dependent upon the attitudes we espouse. Once we recognize that we are the captains of our vessels, we also understand that no one else has the power or ability to ruin our day, unless of course, we give that power to them.

Others have tried to ruin my day before–they tried to sour my attitudes, my outlooks, my hopes, and my ambitions, and I let them. But over the course of many bad days, I finally came to realize that my awful feelings were not a result of my actions, but of my reactions to those actions. In other words, I let others allow me to make my own days miserable. It was not that the day was bad, or even that those individuals made the day bad, it was me. I let their words and actions affect the peace and serenity within me. And once I understood this truth, I could find ways to avoid letting others determine my attitudes in life.

Life is an amazing and wonderful journey filled with so much potential for joy and happiness and hope. But we have to make the choice to look for and see the miraculous and the beautiful in the world around us each day. We have to recognize the wonder that is life; to choose optimism over pessimism, and hope over despair. It is not always going to be easy, but it is always possible to learn to let things go, to let things pass us by. And once we understand how to avoid being strongly affected by the actions of others, we know how to take control of our own attitudes and perspectives instead of reacting to the actions of the world around us.

Embrace a positive attitude throughout the day.

Questions to consider:

Why is it so easy to react instead of act?

Why do we so often let others bring us down? What does that help?

How might we start to not let the actions of others affect us so strongly?

For further thought:

“Each of us makes our own weather, determines the color of the skies, in the emotional universe which we inhabit.” ~ Archbishop Fulton J. Sheen

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

