Positive Attitude

“If you have a positive attitude and constantly strive to give your best effort, eventually you will overcome your immediate problems and find you are ready for greater challenges.” ~ Pat Riley … 

There are no real boundaries to our abilities in life, only man-made ones. Many times, we are one failure away from success, one loss away from winning, and the only thing separating us from reaching that success is our attitudes. Our attitudes and perspectives can make our problems insurmountable, create additional obstacles that we must overcome, or turn our journeys into seemingly impossible pursuits. But we make them that way… with stubbornness, pride, over-confidence, lack of effort, and any other attitude that clouds our vision and holds us back.

When we create such barriers in our lives, we truly are our own worst enemies, for we keep ourselves from learning, growing, and overcoming our immediate problems, and we hinder our own success. Still, a shift in our attitudes is all we need to be more effective in dealing with our problems, and if we make the decision to do so, our problems will become manageable and we will soon overcome them and move on. I can remember my first day of detasseling corn during the summer I turned thirteen. I was tired from getting up at three in the morning, wet from the dew and fresh rain, hot from the humidity and sun, low on energy, and cranky–it was nearly unbearable. However, after sharing my concerns with my mother that evening, and listening to her response, I decided to take a new attitude with me the following day. And although the work was still difficult, and the sun was still hot, and I was still tired, I found that the hours were more tolerable than the previous day–I started looking at the situation as a chance to get to know the other kids working with me; I shifted my focus onto the good I was doing for the farmers, for myself, and for those working with me; and I began to notice that every now and then, a slightly cooler breeze would pass by me. I found that by shifting my attitude from the negative aspects of my situation to the positive, I was able to discover the best in it.

We choose how we go about our lives and how we look at each day. We can choose to have a positive attitude or a negative one; we can “strive to give it our best efforts,” or simply try to get through the day. However, our experiences in life are directly related to these decisions we make each day. And although it may not be easy for us to always find the positive in every situation, and to always give our best, if we do, our problems will become a thing of our past.

Keep a positive attitude today.

Questions to consider:

Why do our attitudes tend so often not to be very positive?

What kinds of specific steps might we take to keep our attitudes positive?

Do you give your best effort to everything that you do? What are some reasons for which you might not do so?

For further thought:

“Our environment, the world in which we live and work, is a mirror of our attitude and expectations. If we feel that our environment could stand some improvement, we can bring about that change for the better by improving our attitude. The world plays no favorites. It’s impersonal. It doesn’t care who succeeds and who fails. Nor does it care if we change. Our attitude toward life doesn’t affect the world and the people in it nearly as much as it affects us.” ~ Earl Nightingale, Lead the Field

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

