Be The Change

“You must be the change you want to see in the world.” ~ Mohandas Gandhi … 

We cannot expect the world to change if we do not… it starts with you and me. If I want to see more kindness and compassion in the world, then I must start by being kind and compassionate to others. If I want to see more economic opportunities for those of us with fewer means, then I need to help create and provide that opportunity as well as encourage their best efforts. If I wish to see less violence and hatred in the world then I need to stop supporting violent movies and films and I need to learn to control my own anger. This is how we can be that change in the world.

Gandhi is challenging us to action–many of us want something, but few of us take action to bring that something about. At times, this can be discouraging, though, for often times we may not see the direct results of what we do or who we are. However, if we work on developing our self-confidence and making positive decisions, we can effectively be that change we seek.

Every action we do to bring about the change we want to see in the world is of equal importance. For example, I avoid retailers that use negative advertising and contribute financially to unethical causes. And although I will most likely never know if my small act of avoidance will have any effect on the retailer, that is ok. I feel that the important part is not the effect my actions may have on others; rather, the most important thing is the effect my actions have on me, and Ghandi knew this. When I follow my principles and live my life aligned with those principals, I am doing something positive that cannot help but have a positive effect on my life, my self-image, and the ways that I affect other people in my life. If I am the change I want to see, then I can legitimately claim the need for that change.

Demonstrate integrity and certainty by being the change you seek today.

Questions to consider:

What kinds of change would you like to see in the world? Is your life a reflection of how the world would be after the change comes about?

What does it mean to you to “be” the change you want to see?

Why is it so often difficult to stick to our principals?

For further thought:

“Change and growth take place when a person has risked himself or herself and dares to become involved with experimenting with his or her own life.” ~ Herbert Otto, Director of the Human Potentialities Institute

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

