Renew Your Application Of Life Daily

“Appreciation is like an insurance policy. It has to be renewed every now and then.” ~ Dave McIntyre … 

I am often surprised when I receive the bill for my vehicle insurance policies in the mail. Being that I receive them annually, I tend to forget about them until it comes time to pay them. However, since my insurance policies provide me with a level of confidence for the future, and whatever it may bring, it is important that I have them and stay up to date with them. Of course, there are times in my life in which I find myself too busy doing something else or distracted from the here and now. And when this happens, I generally find it difficult to focus on being appreciative. With my mind on other things such as work, money, chores, and other such requirements, I often fail to appreciate the things I currently have in my life–homes and family, food on the table, good health, water to shower and take a bath with, and so forth.

What Dave is hinting at here is that there are times in which our appreciation of life, and all we have, will in a sense expire–we will cease to feel an appreciation for them. And because we are ones who benefit most from our appreciation of things and relationships, this loss will most affect us. Therefore, although we do not technically have to renew our appreciation like an insurance policy, by doing so, we are then constantly reminded of the richness of life around us, of the gifts that are ours each new day of our lives. The help offered by a passing stranger, the kind words and advice of a friend, the many gifts we enjoy each day–they all mean so much more if we receive them in a spirit of appreciation and gratefulness.

So how can we can renew this insurance policy? The way I see it, all we must do is simply pay attention to those things we appreciate, noticing the little details that we so often miss when we are preoccupied and busy. In addition, we can remind ourselves just how special life, people, and things are, and how fortunate we are to be blessed by this specialness in our lives. After all, there are so many things that we are blessed with each day that many others do not have the opportunity to experience, or simply miss out on.

My life is filled with so many things that are important, valuable, and good. And by renewing my appreciation for these things, I am offered satisfaction for the past I have experienced, provided motivation in the present life I am living, and offered hope for the future.

Take a moment to renew your appreciation of life today–both in your relationships and in the good thing around you.

Questions to consider:

How do we reach a point at which we stop appreciating things?

How does appreciation make you feel as the one who appreciates? As the recipient of the appreciation?

What kinds of things can you do to renew your appreciation? Of which parts of your life do you need to renew it?

For further thought:

“Whatever our individual troubles and challenges may be, it’s important to pause every now and then to appreciate all that we have, on every level. We need to literally “count our blessings,” give thanks for them, allow ourselves to enjoy them, and relish the experience of prosperity we already have.” ~ Shakti Gawain, Creating True Prosperity

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

