Feed Yourself With Music Regularly

“We all have music inside us, and can learn how to get it out, one way or another.” ~ Frank R. Wilson, Tone Deaf and All Thumbs? … 

When I am driving down the road with my family, I often times get the pleasure of listening to my children sing along loudly to the songs on the radio. It reminds me of when I was a child, and I, too, you to belt out loudly to the songs. And regardless of if I was in tune or not, or even whether I knew the words, in my mind and in my ears, it was perfect. I remember I used to love singing the Elton John song, “I Guess That’s Why They Call It The Blues.” When the chorus would come I would sing, “I guess that’s why they call it bamboos,” and I truly butchered most of the song in similar fashion. Still it sounded perfect to me and I loved singing it. As I grew older, however, I found it less fashionable to sing in public. I recall a classmate of mine once asking me, “Who sings that song?” Then, when I replied “Tom Petty,” he said, “Well then let him sing it.”

As many of us grow older, we frequently tend to sing less–sometimes out of embarrassment, sometimes so as not to bother others. Perhaps you may have even heard someone say, “Don’t quit your day job” as a response to your singing. However, comments like this should be ignored–we should never let someone else cut us down. More importantly, if we were to look closer at the reasons why someone made these comments, we would most likely see the insecurities, or envy, or jealousy behind their harsh words.

Music is an extension of ourselves–our emotions and feelings, our hopes and dreams. When I turn on a song that I love and am passionate about, and I begin to sing along with it, I find myself overcome with indescribable emotions. Simply put… it is absolutely, wonderful in every way!

Those of us who sing in life experience the riches of the great joy it brings to their lives. However, those without music in their lives–those who repress it for any number of reasons–create a poverty that cannot be replaced by any other means. Choose to make music today and each day of your life.

Sing, hum, dance, or play a song today.

Questions to consider:

How does a good song affect you? How does creating a good song affect you?

What would life without music be like?

In what ways are you best able to create music? How often do you do so?

For further thought:

“No soul comes on earth without a feeling for music. It is only when souls have become dense after having come to the earth that they lose that feeling. But when someone has lost interest in music one should know that person is not living; there is something that was living in that person that is now dead.” ~ Hazrat Inayat Khan, The Art of Personality

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

