Reclaim Your “Happy-Childhood”

“It’s never too late to have a happy childhood.” ~ Tom Robbins, Still Life with Woodpecker … 

I know I do not only speak for myself when I say that I grew up way too fast, as this tends to be the norm for many of us. One of the chief reasons behind this is the desire to be like the adults we look up to and emulate. And now, as an adult, I too, play a part in this nonsensical rhythm of life: as children we desire to be like our adult role models, and then as adult role models we tend to impress upon children the desire to be like us. The most obvious way, quite expectedly, is to grow up, and so many children have done just that–accepting responsibility at a far too young age; often creating a sense of regret and remorse that they carry with them as adults. Some children have no choice–they were born into poverty and must work to help the family get by, or are the product of an abusive or broken home and must learn to fend for themselves.

However, here is the wonderful part: “It is never too late!” I can choose to be happy, and I can choose to live my life with the joy and innocence of my childhood at any moment. I can ride my bike through the woods, across bridges and through the creeks. I can play in the leaves in the fall and the snow in the winter. I can even spend time playing with my children, helping them to experience the richness of childhood as well–double benefit! When I look at the world through the eyes of a child, I see fun on the playground and in the swimming pool. I find laughter in the silly jokes and witty puns. I find refreshment in the cool rains of a gentle storm. Having a happy childhood right now means exactly what we know in our heart it should mean. Personally, I love allowing myself to be child at times–it is so invigorating and fulfilling.

Do not let others stop you from being childlike and reclaiming your “happy childhood.” Childhood is simply too amazing to be limited to any specific period of our life.

Do something you have always wanted to do as a child but may never had the chance to do.

Questions to consider:

Why do so many people frown on adults doing childlike things?

Think of some of the things that were the most fun when you were a kid. Would they be fun to do now? Do you do them?

What benefit would it have for others if you were to enjoy yourself immensely now by doing something “just for fun?”

For further thought:

“Part of me is still waiting to grow up, to be an adult, and the other part knows there is no such thing.” ~ Richard Dreyfuss

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

