World Of Wonders

“The world is full of wonders and miracles, but people take their little hands and cover their eyes and see nothing.” ~ Israel ben Eliezer (Baal Shem Tov) … 

What am I seeing today? Do I have my hands in front of my eyes, and if so, what am I missing? I like to know what to expect each day for the most part–there is a comfort in this. Yet by living in unchanging patterns each day, I run the risk of growing so comfortable with my day-to-day life and missing out on things. And the sad thing is, if I am missing stuff–wonders, miracles, and the blessed things in life–it is a result of my own doing. Here, as Israel points out, by being too busy, too preoccupied, too worried, hyper-focused, or just plain inattentive, I am “taking my little hands and covering my eyes.” And maybe I am just becoming too used to everything and have allowed the miraculous to become mundane. Still, it is only mundane in my mind, nowhere else–for even when my own perspective has relegated it to the status of normal, it is still a wonder.

So if I am walking around blinded by myself, the question I want to know is this, “How can I take my hand away and restore my sight?” And the answer is quite simple (but not necessarily easy). First, I must become “present” in my life–I need to be aware more often that I am actually surrounded by amazing miracles–for if I know that I am, I can remind myself to look at them. Then, I can truly begin to participate in my life–I can actively begin to look at things all around me, like the trees, the cars, the flowers, the people, the houses, and the sky, and ask myself seriously, “What is miraculous about this thing?”

So first, become present, and then actively participate in life. Easy-peasy right?

If I could ask one thing from you today, it would be not to choose to see nothing. Lower your hands and try to see–even if just for a moment–the world all around you. You will discover that the more you open your eyes to the miracles and wonders about you, the more magical life becomes. And the more magical it becomes, the more fully you begin to life your life, and the deeper the meaning and purpose of life become.

Sit in observation for a few minutes and take note of at least one miracle around you.

Questions to consider:

How do we learn to cover our eyes instead of seeing the miraculous and wondrous?

What kinds of wonders and miracles are in your sight at the moment?

How can we adopt the habit of allowing ourselves not to cover our eyes and to see, recognize, and appreciate the miracles?

For further thought:

“You can become blind by seeing each day as a similar one. Each day is a different one, each day brings a miracle of its own. It’s just a matter of paying attention to this miracle.” ~ Paulo Coelho

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

