Be Aware Of Your Present Moments

“Life is a great and wondrous mystery, and the only thing we know that we have for sure is what is right here right now. Don’t miss it.” ~ Leo Buscaglia … 

Our lives are made up of millions of “right here right now’s,” and it is from these little moments that the murals of our lives are composed. What type of composition is my life becoming? Do I miss these little moments, and if so, how often? In the morning when I awake, am I aware of the beauty of the day around me, noticing the sunrise or the birds, and thankful to be alive today? And later when I am at work, do I embrace the conversations and encounters of others, or am I so intent on accomplishing my tasks that I concentrate only on my work and miss the lives of those around me? Then when I return home that evening, and my wife or my children are talking to me, do I hear their concerns and become involved in the conversations, or do I exist elsewhere? At times, I get so caught up in life–eating, learning, watching a movie, writing, reading, playing tennis, exercising, and many other hobbies–that I fail to see all of the beautiful moments occurring around me and miss out on much of their potential.

All too often I see people around me, who are surrounded by family or friends, pull out their cell phones to read email or search the web, or to type, talk, or text someone that is not even around. There they are, gifted with a wonderful opportunity to spend time with those who care about them, and yet they are still distracted, missing those precious moments as they go passing before their very eyes. Unfortunately, without taking time to slow down and let ourselves become aware of all of the life around us, the distractions of life often make it impossible for us to appreciate the people and the things that surround us to the fullest. And if we spend our time thinking about tomorrow’s activities, we may miss those of today. Or if we find ourselves worrying about a future deadline, or become upset about something that occurred yesterday, we will come to find that today has come and gone before we knew it, and that it never had a fair chance to truly impact us on a spiritual, emotional, physical, or mental level.

Of course, there are many mysteries about life, many of which are rather exciting to ponder. Why are we here? How did we get here? What is our purpose as living beings? However, only one thing about life is not really a mystery–what is happening in the here and now. If I commit myself fully to each present moment, then I can find the treasure that is embedded in each moment of my life. And by the time I finish on this planet, what a collection of treasures I will have! If I can make the most out of each moment I live, then my life will truly be fascinating and worthwhile.

Life has so much to give to us, so much to teach. As Leo said, “Don’t miss it!” You are surrounded by people who are fascinating and who need your help… if you just take the chance–one simple moment to get to know them a bit better and find out more about them. The work that you do can be more interesting and involving, if you put yourself into it fully and try to do it in unique and more effective ways. Your relationships can grow deeper and more fulfilling if you put more into them by listening better, hearing more, and giving to fulfill the needs you perceive by paying closer attention. It is your life… be aware of your present moments.

During this day, stop for a minute and reflect upon what is happening at that very moment.

Questions to consider:

What is in your life right here and right now? Ten minutes from now? An hour from now? What can you give to it?

Why do we tend to focus so often on things that are not in our immediate experience?

How can we teach ourselves to pay closer attention and get more out of each passing moment of our lives?

For further thought:

“Only one person in a thousand knows the trick of really living in the present. Most of us spend fifty-nine minutes an hour living in the past, with regret for lost joys or shame for things badly done (both utterly useless and weakening) or in a future which we either long for or dread. There is only one minute in which you are alive, this minute, here and now. The only way to live is by accepting each minute as an unrepeatable miracle. Which is exactly what it is–a miracle and unrepeatable.” ~ Margaret Storm Jameson

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

