Are You Unknowingly On Your Way To The Scrap-Heap?

“If your capacity to acquire has outstripped your capacity to enjoy, you are on your way to the scrap-heap.” ~ Glen Buck … 

There is a reason that “joy” is part of the word “enjoy,” for without it, we cannot truly appreciate and take pleasure in our experience here on this Earth. In today’s culture of busyness and accumulation, it is easy to become focused on earning more money, acquiring more things, gathering more information, getting more done, having contact with more people, or any of those other things that diminish our ability to encounter and recognize joy in our lives. We often times defer our enjoyment until after we have acquired enough–until we feel we there is nothing more to achieve. But this time may never come… and one of our principal duties here on Earth is to enjoy the gifts that have been given to us right now.

I certainly do not feel like I am on my way to the scrap-heap; I still feel I have a lot of potential within me. However, if I wish to ensure that my final destination is not a dump somewhere, I have to recognize and appreciate all that I have in my life. The endless search to acquire things distracts me from the beauty and wonder that surrounds me, and when I am distracted, I neglect enjoying these things, which leaves me feeling miserable, bored, depressed, and dispirited. And if I find myself in this state, it is a good assumption that I most likely will find myself collapsing from weariness instead of rising up in joy.

If I awake each morning exhausted and already dreading what lies ahead of me, I am most likely on my way to the scrap-heap–becoming worn out and useless. But if I can focus on the limitless possibilities and new opportunities that lie before me, with enthusiasm and gratitude, I will find that the day provides more than enough joy for my mind, body, and spirit. I will find myself revitalized and energized as I go forth into the day knowing that my attitudes, my perceptions, and my experiences in life, are mine to determine. In truth, we all have the chance to enjoy the great things of our lives–the company of nice people, the beauty of our surroundings, the contributions of others, the healthy and delicious foods we eat, the ability to run, jump, write, sing, talk, listen, and read to children. But no one else can help us to enjoy these things; it has to come from within.

Do not acquire anything new today; instead, concentrate your efforts on enjoying the blessings that already fill your life.

Questions to consider:

What have you truly enjoyed today?

Do you enjoy simple things now more or less than you did as a child? What do you think the difference is?

How might you go about finding more enjoyment in the everyday things of life? What strategies might you use to remind yourself of the importance of doing so?

For further thought:

“Live and work but do not forget to play, to have fun in life and really enjoy it.” ~ Eileen Caddy

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

