Find And Pursue Something You Love Doing

“If my doctor told me I only had six months to live, I wouldn’t brood. I’d type a little faster.” – Isaac Asimov … 

Along the same lines as yesterday’s theme, making the most of the time we have available to us should be perhaps the key focus of our day each morning we wake. The truth of the matter is that one day, we are going to leave this planet, and no amount of agonizing over this truth will change that fact. We can, however, enjoy every minute of every day–the good, the bad… all of it; for the journey that we call life is experienced however we choose.

Isaac realized his own mortality and knew the importance of his time here on Earth. He also knew that writing was what he enjoyed and was his particular way of contributing to the world. And so we was aware that some of the best contributions he could make during his last six months of life were through the words he composed and shared with others. We, too, experience that feeling that there is “more” to life at some point along our journey. Perhaps we feel that we should be performing some other line of work or giving back and serving the community more. Maybe we hear the call to travel more and to share in the lives of others. The fact is, that until we have found things in life that we truly love, and have found ways to incorporate them into our lives, we will be discontent–for our souls will not be doing what they yearn to be doing.

Each day, I work towards creating a better version of myself than yesterday–passing on some of the wisdom I have gathered to those who walk this Earth with me, raising my children with the love of a father, listening to those who need someone to talk to, and comforting others who are alone and afraid. And if I were to find out that I had six months to live, well, there is no place I would rather be than right there with those who already value my presence. I therefore find the majority of my life fulfilling–in a very genuine way. I may fill my weekends with more fun activities, my evenings with more books and family time, and my silence with more prayers; yet for the most part, I am content with where I am going in life and I am prepared for whatever it may bring me.

If we were to find out that our time here on Earth was to be more limited than we had previously thought or hoped… what would we do? Would we become depressed and feel sorry for ourselves, or would we simply accept the fact that our lives are going to end, and what matters most is that it is lived to the fullest in each and every moment in which we possibly can, until the last breath escapes through our lips?

Find and pursue something that you love doing.

Questions to consider:

Why do so many people feel that it is important to cram a lot of living into their last few months if they find out they are going to die?

What kinds of things do you truly love to do? How do those things contribute to others?

What do you think you would do if you found out you had six more months to live? What do you think those choices tell you about yourself?

For further thought:

“St. Francis of Assisi was hoeing his garden when someone asked what he would do if he were suddenly to learn that he would die before sunset that very day. “I would finish hoeing my garden,” he replied.” ~ Louis Fischer

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

