Trust Your Intuition

“You must trust your intuition–you must trust the small voice inside you which tells you exactly what to say, what to decide.” ~ Ingrid Bergman … 

We have many gifts of sense we have been blessed with–sight, sound, taste, smell, and touch. Yet the most amazing, perhaps, is the often-overlooked gift of intuition. We all have the special sense within us that allows us to feel what is right and what is wrong, and to know things we should not possibly be able to know. But how often do we use it? How often do we call upon it to help us through the difficulties and hardships we are facing in life? Our intuition can help us through our times of trouble, but only if we believe in it, if we trust in it. <!–more–> 

Unfortunately, most of us systematically choose to ignore our intuition in favor of logic and reason. Personally, I have given too much trust to my logic over the course of my life and starved my intuition of the chance to help me. It was not until the last several years that I actually became comfortable with trusting my feelings towards what I should and should not do a bit more, which has resulted in decisions that are much more reliable. I have also noticed that my heart enjoys a much deeper peace in life, and that the things I choose to do are considerably more positive, healthy, and uplifting to those around me.

These days, I often find myself trusting my intuition first and simply using logic for greater clarification, or as a sort of fallback. When dealing with my family, I generally let my intuition guide me instead of trying to figure out what is best to say or do.

The voice inside of us is our compass–the North Star that helps us keep our bearings in the foggy swamps of morality and uncertainty. It invites us to listen and observe when the situation calls for our silence, and urges us to speak up when there are things that need to be said. Often, we will hear it challenging us to push harder and continue forward; while other times it will beckon us to let up and back off so that we do not reach a breaking point or lose our way. And though we will not always make the right decisions, by trusting our intuitions, we will be able to say that we maintained our integrity and acted in line with our beliefs, morals, and ideals.

Listen to “the small voice inside,” whose counsel directs us towards virtuous paths.

Questions to consider:

Why do we sometimes think that intuition is not as trustworthy as logic and reason? How often does reason fall flat on its face when we trust it?

Think of a time when you followed your intuition and things worked out well. What led you to trust it? Why do you not do so more often?

How can we train ourselves to follow our intuition more often? How can we become more aware of that voice inside of us, and follow its suggestions?

For further thought:

“The best way I have found to follow my true desires is to pay attention to my intuitive sense. We all have great wisdom within us, a part of us that knows exactly what we need at every moment. We are born with this intuitive sense, but most of us are quickly taught to distrust and ignore it. We have to relearn something that should come naturally. Fortunately, it’s not too difficult; it just takes some practice.” ~ Shakti Gawain

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

