Motivate Yourself

“The great joy in life is doing what people say you cannot do.” ~ Walter Bagehot …  

It is rather strange why we would ever allow others to get in our heads and convince us of limitations and impossibilities? After all, we are in control of our lives, and only we can possibly know–or even imagine–what our limits are, what potential we have, and what our capabilities may allow us to do. In truth, no one knows what we are capable of–net even ourselves–until we actually make an attempt to do so. <!–more–> 

When others tell me that I cannot do something, or that it is beyond my abilities to accomplish some task, I generally tend to develop a strong desire to disprove them–as if the limits their words create become the fuel that drives me forward. Perhaps it is the result of my confidence in my abilities, or maybe that I simply know what I am capable of, yet I tend to see others doubt and lack of faith in me as a challenge to overcome more than anything else. After all, those individuals who tell me that I cannot do something, are not stating a fact–they generally are positioning themselves to say “I told you so” at a later time, or to perhaps convince me not to push myself to go beyond my limits and expand my world, for whatever selfish reasons they might have.

Accomplishment is a wonderful feeling that builds up our confidence, drives us forward, and allows us to realize our dreams. Personally, it has shown me that I am me, and that no one else can dictate what I can and cannot do–only I can do that. This realization has allowed me to stay focused on my goals and ambitions, and not be limited by the thoughts, ideas, or words of others.

Life is full of impossibilities that are waiting for those of us who might persevere against the odds and overcome them. Many will tell you that they cannot be done, that attempting them will result in failure… but how could they possible know better than you could? Tune into your abilities and potential and strike forth with confidence and joy at whatever it is you wish to accomplish.

Motivate yourself to do one thing someone else has suggested you would fail at.

Questions to consider:

Why might we actually believe someone who says we cannot do something that we are determined to do?

What happens to our self-esteem and self-image when we give up on doing something just because someone else says we cannot do it?

Why might someone consider it a “great joy” to do something that others said they could not do?

For further thought:

“If you persuade yourself that you can do a certain thing, provided this thing be possible, you will do it, however difficult it may be. If, on the contrary, you imagine that you cannot do the simplest thing in the world, it is impossible for you to do it, and molehills become for you unscalable mountains.” ~ Emile Coue

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

