Nature And Patience

“Flowers do not force their way with great strife. Flowers open to perfection slowly in the sun…. Don’t be in a hurry about spiritual matters. Go step by step, and be very sure.” ~ White Eagle, The Quiet Mind …

We all could use a reminder to slow down from the frantic pace of life and simply take the time to enjoy the moment. And here, White Eagle offers us one of the best remedies for the overly busy modern life–nature. Nature has the innate ability to teach us invaluable lessons in patience, ones that we most likely would simply glance over had they not been so perfectly and simply laid before us. From the ways in which flowers grow gradually from seeds, to the trust and certainty displayed as they open to receive the life-sustaining rays from the sun, we have such amazing examples of how life is best experienced moment by moment.

As a parent with young children, this can be rather difficult; at times I find myself losing my patience and my ability to simply be there–perhaps from something that was said or how it was said, or because of an action or inaction. This leaves me feeling agitated, impatient, and stressed-out. But what kinds of messages does my stress and shortness send to my children? What am I telling them by not allowing myself to be completely in the moment? And at the same time, what kinds of messages am I sending myself with such unrealistic and high expectations?

Life is such a small piece of the eternity that lies before us, and we should be in no hurry to skip past it. Some individuals in our lives may wish us to keep up with their hurried pace in life, but if we ever wish to grow spiritually–the authentic and eternal part of ourselves–then we must embrace a patience and calmness that respects, dignifies, and reveres life. And why not simply take a page from the book of nature–for life knows the pace that is best for it. Flowers, crops, trees, and bushes do not hurry along to bloom–they do so when they are supposed to, at their own pace… and so should we.

Invite more patience and peace into your daily life.

Questions to consider:

What do you think would happen if a flower were to open before it was ready? What does this teach us about patience in life?

Are you usually in a hurry to get things done or are you able to relax and let things take care of themselves in their own time? How does this affect your day?

Do you separate your spiritual matters from the other matters in your life? If not, how might doing so benefit you?

For further thought:

“I remembered one morning when I discovered a cocoon in the bark of a tree, just as the butterfly was making a hole in its case and preparing to come out. I waited a while, but it was too long appearing and I was impatient. I bent over it and breathed on it to warm it. I warmed it as quickly as I could and the miracle began to happen before my eyes, faster than life. The case opened, the butterfly started slowly crawling out and I shall never forget my horror when I saw how its wings were folded back and crumpled; the wretched butterfly tried with its whole trembling body to unfold them. Bending over it, I tried to help it with my breath. In vain. It needed to be hatched out patiently and the unfolding of the wings should be a gradual process in the sun. Now it was too late. My breath had forced the butterfly to appear, all crumpled, before its time. It struggled desperately and, a few seconds later, died in the palm of my hand.

That little body is, I do believe, the greatest weight I have on my conscience. For I realize today that it is a mortal sin to violate the great laws of nature. We should not hurry, we should not be impatient, but we should confidently obey the eternal rhythm.” ~ Nikos Kazantzakis, Zorba the Greek

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

