Accept When You Fail And Rejoice When You Succeed

“I am still learning–how to take joy in all the people I am, how to use all my selves in the service of what I believe, how to accept when I fail and rejoice when I succeed.” ~ Audre Lord, Black Pearls …

The majority of us do not spend a whole lot of time reflecting on all the different “people” that we are in life–we are fathers and mothers, husbands and wives, sons and daughters, brothers and sisters, co-workers and managers, bosses and employees, students and teachers, friends and acquaintances, mentors and coaches. When we consider just how many different roles we have in our lives each day, managing all those roles is actually quite a spectacular accomplishment indeed–an accomplishment that deserves celebration.

Aside from perhaps some of the similar traits, talents, and motivation that we carry into each separate role we are called to in life, often times they require us to be someone else–a completely different individual for the most part. And the beauty of this is that with each different role come new things for us to learn, new ways for us to grow and develop. This is fundamentally important, because some things can only be learned through certain situations, with certain individuals. In addition, each role brings with it unique challenges, rewards, and experiences that help our spirits to grow and to flourish into the extraordinary beings that we were intended to be; helping us to further define who we are, what we believe, what we want from the world, and what we intend to give back to it.

We have cause to rejoice–for we are marvelous creations of a loving God. Experiencing joy in that beautiful creation is a wonderful thing; and feeling joy in the many selves that we are is even greater. I feel joy as a Christian, as a husband, as a father, as a teammate, as a company MD/CEO, as a son, as a mentor, as an instructor, as a first class traditional title holder and as a neighbor and a friend etc. I know that all these roles are true blessings in my life and in the lives of those I love and care dearly for; and these are but a sliver of the selves that I am.

Use all the people you are in the service of what you believe.

Questions to consider:

Do you take joy in who you are? How important is our self-acceptance and self-love to the success of the world? Why?

What are some of the many different roles in your life? What are some of the many selves you become to fill those roles? How often do you reflect upon them throughout the day?

Do you accept when you fail? Do you rejoice when you succeed?

For further thought:

“I love having many roles to play–they keep me vital and they keep me new. I love the fact that I can be a different person in different situations–in a completely appropriate way. And each time I am able to help someone else in a completely different role of mine, my heart grows, my spirit grows, and my love of life grows.” ~ unattributed

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

