Right Time To Give?

“Don’t wait until people are dead to give them flowers.” ~ Sean Covey …

We all need to be reminded now and again in so simple of words, “Give to others now… especially those you care about.” I know that right now there are many people in the world that I could give something to–assistance or a simple gift, kindness and compassion, forgiveness and understanding. So why am I not doing so? Why am I waiting for the right time or some special occasion to give something to someone else that might be needed today?

Unfortunately, the “right time to give” very rarely occurs. And putting off the opportunities of today risks the possibility that I may never have the same chances ever again. Who knows what tomorrow will bring? Who knows how long I will be as healthy and able as I am at this moment? Who knows how long I will be here on this Earth?

If I make it a priority to give to others while they are still alive and can still appreciate my gifts, I place myself in the best position to realize purpose and fulfillment in my life. More importantly, I allow myself to make a real, positive difference in the lives of those I care about; sharing more than just flowers, but also my wholesome and loving intentions that bring peace and hope, cure loneliness and heartache, and offer fellowship to those in need.

The gifts we give today can be the light at the end of the tunnel of darkness someone is travelling down–light that brightens their day. And once their spirits are lifted, they will most likely be more inclined to pass on that joyful feeling to others–perhaps another gift given as a result of yours–multiplying the beauty and the goodness that you have added to the world.

Practice giving regularly–make it an important part of your life. You do not have to wait until someone dies to give them flowers; you do not have to wait until someone is moving away to tell them how you feel about them or to show them that you care. The world could always use a little more of your unique brightness today.

Do not put off giving to another what you are able to give.

Questions to consider:

When was the last time you gave someone flowers? How about any gift simply to show them that you care or are thinking about them?

Why do we often wait to give things to others?

What are you gifting the world when you give to another person?

For further thought:

“It is well to give when asked, but it is better to give unasked, through understanding.” ~ Khalil Gibran

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

