With Open Eyes

“If your eyes were open to all the beauty in the world, you would be overwhelmed with joy.” ~ Marianne Williamson …

Many of us walk around each day with our eyes tightly closed. We are not blind in the literal sense; we are simply blind to all the beauty that surrounds us. We live in such an amazing and wondrous world, but why do so many of us not see it as such? Is it the world’s fault when we see cruelty, hatred, and suffering, or is it because that is what we are looking for? The world is indeed a beautiful place; and if we were to seek its beauty–looking for and recognizing the charm and the adventure it possesses for us–we would find ourselves overwhelmed with joy and happiness.

We sometimes get so used to seeing things in a certain ways that we forget how to see the beauty and wonder around us. Children, however, are quite adept at seeing the miraculous in life. It is not until we begin to grow and mature, that we seem to lose our ability to see this world as wonderful. Instead, we choose to see things through our learned filters of judgment and criticism. That is why it is so important, as parents and adults, that we instill this truth in the hearts of our young children. We must encourage them to continue to look for and celebrate the beauty life holds–for they still see the infinite wonder and potential contained within a mud puddle, a flower, a butterfly, or even a crayon and a piece of paper. I am often too caught up in keeping my children in line with what I consider societal standards–even trying to keep their clothes clean–that I forget that life often beckons us to venture out and get a little dirty now and then.

It is an amazing world; do not let yourself grow accustomed to the beauty all around you. The world holds limitless potential and possibilities for us, if we only allow ourselves to look beyond the ordinary into the extraordinary. Take risks. Partake in those things you love. Perhaps if we sought a bit more of the adventure that this world has to offer us, we could restore some of the balance in our lives, the balance between being grounded and dreaming.

Seek to see the beauty that surrounds you.

Questions to consider:

Do you tend to see the world as a wonderful place, or a normal, everyday place?

When was the last time you felt overwhelmed with joy from the beauty of this world?

Why might many of us stop seeing the beauty, wonder, and potential of the world in which we live?

For further thought:

I see trees of green, red roses too
I see them bloom, for me and you.
And I think to myself… what a wonderful world.

I see skies of blue, and clouds of white
The bright blessed day, the dark sacred night.
And I think to myself… what a wonderful world.

The colors of the rainbow, so pretty in the sky
Are also on the faces, of people going by.
I see friends, shaking hands, saying how do you do
They’re really saying, “I love you.”

I hear babies cry, I watch them grow;
They’ll learn much more than I’ll never know
And I think to myself… what a wonderful world.

George David Weiss & Bob Thiele

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

