Tell

“The greatest weakness of most humans is their hesitancy to tell others how much they love them while they are alive.” ~ Orlando Aloysius Battista …

Why does it have to be so hard to tell those important to us that we love them? We all need that affirmation now and again in our lives–that we are important, that our time here on Earth is appreciated, that we mean something to someone. Over the years, people have come in and out of my life constantly, and so rarely have I told them how much I care for them and appreciate them–I often take it for granted that this much is assumed by my presence around them. Some of them I will never see again, and will therefore never have the chance to tell them what they mean to me. And although many of them I will see regularly, I often do not tell them enough how much I care for them, even though I know how much it means to me to hear the same thing from others.

Many adults spend their whole life thinking that people are not really affected by what they think or say to them. In short, they think that people do not really care if they love them or not–others can get along just fine in life without ever knowing that they are loved. But when a person we love passes away, things left unsaid cannot be later voiced, and there is simply no good reason we must wait until we are kneeling by a graveside to tell others how important they are in our life.

Do you ever have that feeling that you just have to wrap your arms around someone and tell them how much you care about them? I seem to get it from time to time. I recently felt this way when I was watching a film about a couple who lost a child in a car accident. Seeing them have to cope with the loss had me wanting to go run to my children, hug each one of them, and tell them that I love them more than life itself. And the beauty here is that I do not have to wait to tell them this–I can tell them every day that I am alive.

It really is a tragedy that we do not spend more time sharing such feelings with others. And while I am sure there are some people who would feel awkward if I told them how much they mean to me, as long as I am sincere and carry no expectations of receiving anything in return, I think most people would appreciate it.

Telling people that we love them can help us to contribute in a very real and very positive way to the world in which we live, for the more people there are who feel loved, the more people there will be in the world who are able to share that love with others.

Be sure to tell those you love that you love them as often as you are able to–you never know how much they need to hear it.

Questions to consider:

How do you feel when someone tells you sincerely how much they appreciate, love, or care for you?

How might you let others know how much your appreciate, love, or care for them?

What obstacles keep us from sharing such feelings?

For further thought:

“I think we should give people living eulogies; that we should speak lavish, unashamed words of love and praise, not about them, but to them. Speak all the words of love, to those you love. Say everything, while they can still hear.” ~ unattributed

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

