Purpose For Everything

“Things will happen in your life that you cannot stop, but that is no reason to shut out the world. There is a purpose for the good and for the bad.” ~ Walter Sparrow …

Bad things will happen in life, but we must not let them close us out from the world; for even if we do not understand it at the moment, everything has a purpose and a time. I recall occasions in time past in my life in which I felt that it was pointless to press on or to try so hard because of the failures and bad results I was experiencing; a part of me did not want to take the risks because of previous hurts and failures when I tried before. But doing so only kept me away from realizing the growth and potential that was available to me.

With all that is going on in our lives and in the lives of those we have contact with, we are bound to encounter bad things. But that does not mean that we should “shut out the world” or avoid contact with others. There are very important lessons to be gathered from those bad things–lessons that cannot be learned if we do not take the time and make the effort to do so.

If I do not pass my swim class, or fail testing for a new belt in taekwondo, I can decide that I want to quit or never take the test again, or I can choose to look where I may have went wrong and correct those things in the future, so I do pass. If my business goes under I can decide never to start a business again, or I can decide to learn from what happened and take those lessons into the next venture. If someone insults, offends, or hurts my feelings, I can try to shut out the world, which is unhealthy for me. Alternatively, I can learn to avoid that person or situation in the future, and I can resolve not to treat others in ways that might offend or degrade them.

There are bad things that have happened to me in my life; but still many more good things that I have experienced. And by allowing myself to seek and recognize a purpose behind them all, I am more effectively helping myself to grow into the person I was created to be.

Try to find purpose for everything in your life.

Questions to consider:

How do you look at the good things that happen both to you, and around you, in life? The bad?

What valuable lessons have you learned from the good and bad things that have happened to you? Did any of those lessons endure?

What happens when we shut ourselves off from the world?

For further thought:

“People wish to learn to swim and at the same time to keep one foot on the ground.” ~ Marcel Proust

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

