Seize The Day!

“Make every day count. Appreciate every moment and take from those moments everything that you possibly can, for you may never be able to experience it again. . . . Create your own life and then go out and live it with absolutely no regrets.” ~ Walter Payton, Never Die Easy …

There are a number of periods in my life, where I can recall thinking to myself, “Boy does time fly by.” I remember being in grade school thinking it was just yesterday I was playing in the fields and riding bikes around town with my friends with no thought of school. Then I was in high school thinking back to the days when I never had to worry about working to make money. Next, I was in college reminiscing playing organized sports–throwing game winning touchdown passes and shooting last second basketball shots. Then marriage, landed properties, children… before I knew it I was celebrating my oldest daughter’s 10th birthday party and realizing that she too is starting upon a journey I have been on–that of growing up.

Time passes at its own speed regardless of our concerns. There are times I would like to slow down and enjoy the moment; they continue by at the same pace as the moments I wish to finish quickly. And often times I get so extremely busy and lose focus of the time passing me by, that I find myself looking back with a bit of sorrow and regret as I realize that I have failed to fully appreciate the time that was given to me. But that kind of appreciation takes work and effort. It is not something that tends to happen normally–we often have to be reminded of those things for which we should have appreciation. So trying to appreciate every moment can be a difficult task, but not impossible. As long as we take the effort seriously, and make the effort consistently, we can teach ourselves to live our lives with higher levels of appreciation.

We only get one shot at this moment in our lives, one chance to make this day count. Each moment is an opportunity to love, to appreciate, to give, to take, to dream, to learn, to relax–simply to be. Appreciate these moments, for one day someone we are close to will pass away, and we may wish we had appreciated their presence enough to spend even more time with them, to have shared more kindness and love with them. Or a close friend will move away, and we may feel that we have lost an opportunity to show more gratitude, create more memories, and spend additional time with this wonderful person. Summer will pass and we will wish that we had taken more time to appreciate the warm weather. The only way to avoid regret in the future is to act in authentic ways today–to get as much as we can out of each day, and to give as much as we can to each day.

Carpe diem. Sieze the day!

Questions to consider:

Do you appreciate every moment of every day? What makes it difficult to do so?

How fast does time go by in your life? Have you missed moments for appreciation?

How can we learn to appreciate more the things and more moments in our lives?

For further thought:

“You’ll seldom experience regret for anything that you’ve done. It is what you haven’t done that will torment you. The message, therefore, is clear. Do it! Develop an appreciation for the present moment. Seize every second of your life and savor it. Value your present moments. Using them up in any self-defeating ways means you’ve lost them forever.” ~ Wayne Dyer

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

