Personal Standards

“Success is the doing, not the getting; in the trying, not the triumph. Success is a personal standard, reaching for the highest that is in us, becoming all that we can be. If we do our best, we are a success.” ~ Zig Ziglar …

Perhaps you have heard the saying, “Winning isn’t everything, but the will to win is.” In so few words, legendary coach Vince Lombardi captured the essence of what it means to succeed in life. If we do the best we possibly can at something, then we have already succeeded regardless of the outcome or result. Our best efforts, the ones that push us forward and onward to the limits of our abilities, are what truly define success. And although wise individuals have told me this before throughout my younger years, I generally ignored it for the most part.

During the 1996 Olympics, there was a terrible ad campaign that stated: “You do not win the silver; you lose the gold.” But by this standard, there can be only one winner in each event, even though every single competitor had to overcome tremendous odds and beat thousands of top athletes in qualifying rounds just to make it there.

Success in life is found within our own hearts and spirits–in the search for courage, strength, and the will to succeed. It comes from us realizing our own personal standards–from pushing ourselves to new and extraordinary limits, accomplishing and often exceeding our own personal goals, and reaching for the highest that is within us.

Regardless of whether I come in first place, second place, or last place, as long as I used my God-given talents to the best of my ability and did the best that I am capable of doing, I have most certainly succeeded. That is because the real difference between a winner and a loser is their attitude–even if I get passed over for the promotion or do not receive recognition for my work, I can still be a winner. I set my own personal standards; I define my own success in life.

Offer encouragement to others who give it there all and display the qualities of a winner.

Questions to consider:

Why do we so often judge our success based off of winning or placing first?

What would be a more accurate criteria for judging success?

How often do you give it your best efforts? How can you better gauge whether or not you do so?

For further thought:

“Success is not measured by what you do compared to what others do; it is measured by what you do with the ability God gave you.” ~ Zig Zigler

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

