Do You Judge Others?

“Whoever undertakes to set himself up as a judge of Truth and Knowledge is shipwrecked by the laughter of the gods.” ~ Albert Einstein …

Who am I to judge? I have read in countless places that the measure in which I judge others, will be the measure used to judge me, and the more I experience in life, the more sense this makes to me. I have my beliefs–things I deem Truth and Knowledge–shaken and disproved time and time again. And worst of all, the things I have judged others for–lack of patience, anger, parenting style, movies and TV shows viewed, music listened to, and on and on–I, too, have found myself at fault.

I am sure you know of someone who feels that they are the experts in “Truth and Knowledge.” Perhaps they shout from the pulpits, or the offices and classrooms, or even from on the couch with a beer in hand. In their mind, they know what is right and wrong, and are willing to point out the shortcomings of others, all the while ignoring their own. But as Albert points out, eventually their own arrogance will be the cause of their mockery, for they deem to place themselves on pedestals instead of at the helm of their ships.

Genuine truth and knowledge is obtained when we come to the realization that our own knowledge is limited, and that truth is a matter perspective. And when we are able to accept others for who they are, without passing judgment over them, that is when we best serve ourselves.

Accept that others have their own equally valid truth and knowledge in their lives.

Questions to consider:

What sort of things do you judge in others?

Why is it so tempting to feel that we are in a position to judge others?

What would life be like if we were all less judgmental towards each other?

For further thought:

“If we judge others, it is because we are judging something in ourselves of which we are unaware.” ~ John A. Sandford

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

