Power Of Giving

“If you knew what I know about the power of giving, you would not let a single meal pass without sharing it in some way.” ~ Buddha …

Powerful words–we tend to put a lot of thought and effort into making ourselves happy and satisfying our own wants. But what if we were to put forth a little bit of effort to share of our happiness and our joys? What if each day, we made the effort to gift to others who are in need–of joy, of friendship, of healing, of compassion, of love–a portion of our daily blessings, our daily bread? That joy, that happiness, and that love would come right back to us; as it multiplied, all around, there would exist an excess of it… and that is the power that the Buddha is talking about here.

When I stop to think about how often, and how much effort I put forth, to taking care of my own wants in life–increasing my income, partaking in a fun new activity such as tennis, eating a snack, deciding how to dress and what to buy–it leaves me amazed at all the untapped potential power I have available to me. I mean, I put a lot of thought into my life and making myself happy. And although that is both necessary and good… it begs me to ask myself, “How much time and thought do I give to satisfying the needs of others around me?” Are there a few occurrences throughout the day when I think about the needs of my spouse, my children, my friends, my neighbours, my professional colleagues, my business partners, and those strangers I meet? If not, then I am most assuredly missing the “power of giving” I have available to me each day.

We have available to us tremendous power to positively affect the lives of those around us. Perhaps leaving a note or flowers for my spouse, or spending a few hours talking and playing with my children. Maybe offering to help a person with a problem they are struggling with, or listening to the concerns of a friend. There are people out there who are praying for assistance, who simply need to be reminded that God loves them and is still thinking about them and the concerns and needs in their lives. There are so many simple ways to share of our bounty with those around us, if we just spend a little time thinking about the needs of those around us.

Share of your bounty today–joy, happiness, talents, possessions, time.

Questions to consider:

Think of a time when you brought joy to someone else’s life through giving. How did that make you feel?

Why do we often fail to spend more time giving and sharing with others?

What are some new ways you could share joy with others?

For further thought:

“Since you get more joy out of giving joy to others, you should put a good deal of thought into the happiness that you are able to give.” ~ Eleanor Roosevelt

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

