Finding Purpose

“So many people walk around with a meaningless life. They seem half-asleep, even when they’re busy doing things they think are important. This is because they are chasing the wrong things. The way you get meaning in your life is to devote yourself to loving others, devote yourself to your community around you, and devote yourself to creating something that gives you purpose and meaning.” ~ Mitch Albom, Tuesdays with Morrie …

What do I devote myself to in life? Do I spend my time and energies chasing busywork and doing things that are truly unimportant? Or do I devote myself to loving others and the community around me? The answer to this question can make all the difference in determining just what I get out of life. As Morrie Schwartz tells us in Mitch’s book, where we devote ourselves in life can leave us walking around half-asleep… or it can add meaning and purpose into our lives.

In life, we get what we give. And if we spend our time giving, whether it be emotionally, spiritually, physically, or even simply materially, we will receive in return. But we have to do it with purpose and meaning–we have to devote ourselves to giving fully and unconditionally, with no expectations or stipulations. Only then will we be given back exactly what we need–purpose, meaning, and fulfillment.

I have had my needs taken care of a number of times in my life. And although it is always tempting to worry about myself, God always finds a way to provide. It is actually very liberating to accept this truth, and instead allow myself to focus on the needs of those around me. Worrying about myself only adds stress to my life and creates more need, whereas, in keeping my focus on the needs of others, my own needs get met, whether or not I notice it at the time.

Devote yourself to those around you.

Questions to consider:

In what ways do we sabotage finding meaning and purpose in our lives?

What are your most important needs? Are they being met?

Do you trust God? Do you trust the plans that life has in store for your?

For further thought:

“You can rest assured that if you devote your time and attention to the highest advantage of others, the Universe will support you, always and only in the nick of time.”~ R. Buckminster Fuller

1 Comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

One response to “Finding Purpose

  1. Pingback: What's vital: A goal or the process of the goal?

Leave a Reply

