Jigsaw Puzzles

“You can’t stay in your corner of the Forest waiting for others to come to you. You have to go to them sometimes.” ~ A.A. Milne in Winnie The Pooh …

It is peculiar how our perspective in life is greatly influenced by the environment we surround ourselves with. When we feel happy, generally it is because happy individuals and situations surround us. And when we feel lonely, often times it is because we have made ourselves an island and sheltered ourselves away, or built up walls to protect ourselves. Our experience in life relies heavily on how much we give to it–how much time, how much interaction, how much heart. And we cannot give much, when we “stay in our own corner of the Forest waiting for others to come to us.”

Someone once told me that we could experience most everything in life by sitting calmly and letting it come to us. I argue, however, that people tend to ignore those who sit on the sidelines. After all, many of us are introverts–quiet and shy individuals who prefer not to approach others if unnecessary.

But I have this belief that we are all like jigsaw puzzles that have been scattered and mixed together in each other’s boxes–we are incomplete and need each other. And along our journey in life, we meet individuals who share with us those missing pieces of our puzzle, bringing us that much closer to completion. We need to meet these individuals, to interact with them and be involved in their lives too, for they need us to complete their puzzles as well. And if we hide ourselves away, waiting for others to come to us, we effectively hide away our puzzles, as well as the pieces that others need from us.

There are people out there waiting for you to help make them whole. They need you to become complete, and they need you to remind them that they, too, are of great value to others in life.

Share in the lives of those around you.

Questions to consider:

Why is it so easy to stay in our own corner of the Forest?

How can we go out to visit others each day? What are some of the benefits of doing so?

Will we ever find our puzzle completed if we never venture out or take risks? What of the puzzles of those around us?

For further thought:

“I have realized; it is during the times I am far outside my element that I experience myself the most. That I see and feel who I really am, the most! I think that’s what a comet is like, you see, a comet is born in the outer realms of the universe! But it’s only when it ventures too close to our sun or to other stars that it releases the blazing “tail” behind it and shoots brazen through the heavens! And meteors become sucked into our atmosphere before they burst like firecrackers and realize that they’re shooting stars! That’s why I enjoy taking myself out of my own element, my own comfort zone, and hurling myself out into the unknown. Because it’s during those scary moments, those unsure steps taken, that I am able to see that I’m like a comet hitting a new atmosphere: suddenly I illuminate magnificently and fire dusts begin to fall off of me! I discover a smile I didn’t know I had, I uncover a feeling that I didn’t know existed in me… I see myself. I’m a shooting star. A meteor shower. But I’m not going to die out. I guess I’m more like a comet then. I’m just going to keep on coming back.” ~ C. JoyBell C.

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

