Make It Count

“I do not know when my time on earth will be up; but I do know that today, I am one day closer. You can bet I am going to make this day count! Will you?” ~ Steve Maraboli …

Every morning I like to thank God that I have awoken to another day before me. Of course, this day could be my last. And if I remind myself of this truth–that I am now one day closer to the day I leave this earth–I allow myself to remain focused and aware of the inherent value that lies within each second of the day before me–86,400 seconds to be exact.

If today were your last day here, you want no regrets; you want to be able to say to yourself that you did everything you could to make this world a better place for yourself and for those important to you. You certainly do not want to waste a day of your life carrying around bad feelings such as anger, hatred, resentment, or envy. You would therefore start by making amends with those you needed to make amends with–God, family, loved ones, close friends, those you hold grudges with. you would also strive to make the day as positive as possible, showing love, kindness, and compassion to all you meet.

The truth is we truly do not know when our time will come, so we really should be treating each day as if it were our last. At the very least, we should be telling ourselves that, “today, I am one day closer to leaving this life, and I should therefore make it count!”

Live like today was your last day on earth.

Questions to consider:

Is your future guaranteed? Tomorrow? Next week? Next year? What does that mean to you?

How would you treat other people if it were your last day of life?

What keeps us from fully living our lives sometimes?

For further thought:

“You don’t get to choose how you’re going to die, or when. You can only decide how you’re going to live. Now.”~ Joan Baez, Daybreak

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

