What We Sow …

“We sow our thoughts, and we reap our actions; we sow our actions, and we reap our habits; we sow our habits, and we reap our characters; we sow our characters, and we reap our destiny.” ~ Charles A. Hall …

In following our reflection from yesterday, here we find that our thoughts not only add and take away from our experiences in life, but they also ultimately determine who we have been, who we are now, and who will become.

I love the analogy of reaping what we sow. It makes it easy to imagine myself as a farmer planting seeds in my field. What I plant, and how I tend to and nourish my crops, will determine what I have at harvest and what I will have available to eat. When I look at my life in such a manner, it is clearly evident to me that who I am, and what I experience in life, is directly correlated with the choices I make. And seeing my life as the result of what I sow, presses me to ask myself, “What am I planting in my field? Is it the produce I wish to consume?”

When we choose what thoughts we are going to dwell on, we affect how we act each day. And by acting a certain way, over time, we form our habits. Those habits can be good habits–such as reading positive and encouraging books, spending time in daily prayer, and giving of our time and talents to others–or those habits can be bad habits. And whatever those habits become, so, too, will our character become… and that will be the life we will live and know.

Nurture wholesome habits by working on positive thoughts and actions today.

Questions to consider:

Who are you, and what do you do in life today? How does this align with where you want to be?

Why is it easy for us to take our thoughts and actions for granted and not really pay much attention to them?

What kinds of actions might help us to grow into better people? How can you make these actions more of a foundation in our life?

For further thought:

“People’s dreams are made out of what they do all day, the same way a dog that runs after rabbits will dream of rabbits. It’s what you do that makes your soul, not the other way around.” ~ Barbara Kingsolver

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

