Make Your Day Count

“Waking up this morning, I smile. Twenty-four brand new hours are before me. I vow to live fully in each moment and to look at all beings with eyes of compassion.” ~ Thich Nhat Hanh …

“Twenty-four brand new hours are before me.” When I allow myself to look at my day as subsets of a larger day, I can begin to realize the power and potential that is available for me to unleash by living in the moment. I may not be able to positively affect the lives of everyone else today, or even of all those I love, but I can make at least one small difference for someone today. I can bring compassion, love, caring concern, happiness, and joy to someone in need, even if but for one hour. And that would be something worthy of calling it a day well spent.

When we look at our days as a whole, they can often times seem overwhelming, or at times, they can begin to blur into one another; and just like yesterday, I have a lot to accomplish today. But if I always keep myself focused on busywork, I miss the little things that require my interaction today. Perhaps it is simply listening to my daughter read a book for 10 minutes, or imparting an important lesson to her while I still can. Perhaps share a compliment with a stranger or encourage someone who is in doubt. Perhaps a coworker is dealing with a loss or another difficult issue and I can lend an ear for 15 minutes or take them out to lunch. There is so much hurt in the world that can be fixed with a simple act of love and compassion.

Simplify your day down to the hours, or better yet, the moments, for those are all we can live. Then ask yourself, “What will you do with each of those moments that are yours?”

Concentrate on living each hour or moment of your day to the fullest.

Questions to consider:

Why do we often focus on our goals for life and neglect our goals for the day?

How do our tasks become easier when we break them down into smaller jobs? How does this increase our ability to focus on the value that lies before us?

What are some things you can do to make your day, and the day of those around you, much brighter and fulfilling?

For further thought:

“Let every dawn of morning be to you as the beginning of life, and every setting sun be to you as its close; then let every one of these short lives leave its sure record of some kindly thing done for others–some goodly strength or knowledge gained for yourselves.” ~ John Ruskin

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

