Product Of Your Thoughts

“A man is but the product of his thoughts. What he thinks, he becomes.” ~ Mahatma Gandhi …

Our thoughts ultimately shape who we are and what we become in life. This idea might be frightening to some; after all, no one really wants to accept the blame for bad and negative in their life. But if we look at it in a way that enables us to define our destiny, then we become empowered. We recognize that we have the ability to accomplish whatever we want to in life–that we are not defined by our age, our job, or our past, and see that we will not be able to better ourselves through any special works, acts, or deeds. We become whomever it is that we wish to become… plain and simple.

Several years ago, I was at a retreat in which every morning I was tasked to write down a wish, a prayer, or desire on a piece of paper and then carry it in my pocket throughout the day. In this way, I had the opportunity to reflect upon it every time I placed my hand in my pocket, or even simply remembered that the paper was there. And by being aware of my desires, and making them the first thing on my mind in the morning, I empowered myself with the ability to remain focused on the fulfillment of those desires throughout the day. Little, by little, I came to realize that my thoughts were helping my desires to become a reality.

What kind of man do you desire to be? That man is within your grasp, if only you remember to think about that desire every now and then. Our minds have tremendous power to guide us on our path in life. But we must use them to their full potential–we must allow them to visualize and to focus on who we are now, and who we desire to become.

Write down a wish, prayer, or desire of yours on a piece of paper and carry it with you today.

Questions to consider:

What kinds of things usually dominate your thoughts?

What kind of person would you like to be?

What types of thoughts would you need to have to help yourself become that person?

For further thought:

“It is the law of Spirit that we must be that which we would draw to us. If we would draw to us love, we must love, be loving and kind; if we would have peace and harmony in our environment, we must establish it within ourselves.” ~ Charles Fillmore

1 Comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

One response to “Product Of Your Thoughts

  1. estheraigbotsua@yahoo.com

    Sent from my BlackBerry wireless device from MTN

Leave a Reply

