Our Actions Today

“The secret of your future is hidden in your daily routine.” ~Mike Murdock …

If what Mike is saying were the secret to unlocking our potential and realizing our goals and desires, then it really would be worth my while to take some time to think about what daily routines I have that contribute to my future. And if I do not have any, well then perhaps now is the time to develop some.

Simple things, done routinely, definitely have had a dramatic impact on my life. Taking time out of my day to read, reflect, and write has changed my attitudes, outlooks, and perspectives in life. It is much easier for me to find purpose and meaning in the little things I do as I have spent a greater portion of my time seeing the larger picture. And a daily routine of prayer has enabled me to strengthen and build upon my faith life. Additionally, it has served as a reminder of the importance of meeting the requirements of the day and living it to the fullest–giving of my time, talents, and love to those who are near and dear to me.

Our actions today help determine and build our tomorrows. Find routines that reinforce the positive aspects of your life, and foster conditions that nurture and allow the good to come forth. The tomorrows that you create will be rooted in the wholesome soil you have careful tended to today.

Start a small and simply daily routine that could positively benefit your life.

Questions to consider:

Why do we sometimes think that we do not have the ability to create our own futures?

What kinds of actions and routines keep us stuck in unhealthy ruts in our lives? Why might we continue down these paths in spite of their harmful natures?

Think of someone whom you admire. What kind of daily routines does that person have? Why?

For further thought:

“The important thing is to make it meaningful: a meaningful friend–or a meaningful day.” ~Dalai Lama

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

