Give Another Shot

“Most people never run far enough on their first wind to find out they’ve got a second. Give your dreams all you’ve got and you’ll be amazed at the energy that comes out of you.” ~William James …

One of the most important things that I learned playing football and tennis in high school was that sometimes you just have to do what you have to do, and if you give a lot to it, you get much more out of it. We often had to do drills that were unpleasant at best, yet in retrospect helped me to discover a hidden reserve within me–a second wind–that energized me and enabled me to continue on. And honestly, if it had not been for my coaches and their ability to help me push myself beyond my previous limits, I would never have achieved much of what I have gone on to achieve in sports. The same thing can be said about my parents and the lessons they instilled in my life about humanity, spirituality, faith, and purpose.

When we allow ourselves to give it our best, our journeys in life become much more enjoyable and we discover hidden gems along the way. Additionally, much of the strength we need throughout our lives must be built up over time. And it is through our determined successes that we can build such strength.

Win or lose… always finish the race… for there is much to be learned and much to be gained from all we attempt in life. And by embracing such an attitude, a winner’s attitude, we ultimately will succeed no matter the final result.

Think of a dream you have previously given up on and give it another shot today.

Questions to consider:

Is it easy to continue on when the journey is not enjoyable or does not interest us?

Should we let failure, difficulty, pain, or anything else stand in our way of finishing the race?

How can we keep the fire alive within our hearts and discover our second wind?

For further thought:

“Hard work beats talent when talent doesn’t work hard.” ~Tim Notke

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

