Pay Attention To Others

“It’s sweet when someone knows every single detail about you. Not because you constantly remind them, but because they pay attention.” ~Unknown

How we treat others, whether intentionally or not, is a very important aspect of compassion, kindness, and love. And how well we “pay attention to the details,” is routinely used by others as a gauge of the value and worth of our friendship. It is therefore prudent that we show the little considerations of love and affection–especially to our spouses and children–that demonstrate our appreciation of them and their presence in our lives.

I love it when my wife surprises me with the little things that I had been mentioning, often times when I felt no one was even listening. It goes to emphasize the value she places on me and the things that are important to me in life. And when I pay attention to the little details in the lives of those around me, I find that I am able to connect with them on a much deeper level. My relationships become much richer. My ability to add brightness into the lives of those around me becomes easier and more consistent. And my endeavor of living my life fully becomes a continual blessing.

Paying attention to others as a way of showing our love for them is one of the best ways to express our affection and our gratitude and appreciation for them in our lives. And it really does not take all that much effort, just a couple seconds of listening to what they have to say or noticing the things that are most important to them.

Show someone you love them by demonstrating that you pay attention to them today.

Questions to consider:

When was the last time you paid attention to the little details of someone you love? Did you let them know?

What are some of the little details that you might pay a bit more attention to?

How might doing so affect your relationships? Your life?

For further thought:

“Attention to detail is the secret of success in every sphere of life, and little kindnesses, little acts of consideration, little appreciations, little confidences… they are all that are needed to keep the friendship sweet.” ~Hugh Black

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

