Be Who You Are

“Never forget what you are, for surely the world will not. Make it your strength. Then it can never be your weakness. Armor yourself in it, and it will never be used to hurt you.” ~Tyrion Lannister …

How well do we know ourselves? This is an important aspect of our lives that we often times do not explore in enough depth to know off the top of our heads. And if we do understand ourselves clearly, how often do we remain constantly aware of just who we are throughout the day?

What I am… defines my inner self–the core of my being, my morals and convictions, my passions and desires, my strengths and faults. Do I robe myself in this armor each day? If not, I should, for as Tyrion tells me here, “what I wear upon myself each day will be my strength, and others will not be allowed to use it to hurt me.”

It is ultimately a case of personal conviction of will. If I believe in something, and I embrace that and wear it proudly, others will notice and will know that they cannot use it against me, for I have accepted it as my personal belief. If I believe that abortion is wrong, and I speak out against it, and wear my convictions upon my shoulder, no one will doubt me, nor deny my integrity in such matters. Likewise, if I am a Christian, I should be proud of who I am and wear it upon my body like armor each day I am alive.

So who are you? If you know, then wear that armor each day. And if you do not know, then take some time to listen, to become aware of what your heart is saying.

Be who you are today no matter what.

Questions to consider:

What are some of the possibilities of the real you? How often do you let this person show?

Why might we be hesitant to trust our inner voice?

How can we go about enrobing ourselves in the armor of “what we are?”

For further thought:

“I shall try to remember all this day that I am a divine creation with infinite possibilities.” ~Benjamin Eitelgeorge

Leave a comment

Filed under Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

