Actively Choose Your Paths

“The future is not some place we are going, but one we are creating. The paths are not to be found, but made. And the activity of making them changes both the maker and the destination.” ~John H. Schaar …

One of the more popular ways to look at our future is as a destination. We are born into our own unique place in life, and from there we embark on a series of journeys–chapters in our life–that see us through to the end. However, when looking at life in such a way, it is important to note that we are still charting our courses, we are the ones creating our destinations.

Anytime we change direction in life, many things happen. The most notable of which is that our lives change–new doors open and some old doors close. Maybe we find ourselves surrounded by more beauty and tranquility, or perhaps we encounter difficulties and rough seas. When we take control of our vessel and chart a new course in life, one thing is for sure, we realize that our choices determine our own paths in life–we are empowered to own our destiny.

And when we choose our paths in life, we must choose the ones that result in the best version of us possible. Which paths will make me a better person? Which paths will fill me with joy and happiness instead of leaving me barren and empty?

The opportunity to captain my vessel is available to me each day of my life–in my relationships with my spouse and children, in my hobbies and how I spend my free time, when I pick-up a book to read or spend time in reflection. I can actively create my future by choosing the life-giving paths that strengthen the best parts of me.

Actively choose your paths in life today.

Questions to consider:

What paths are you on right now?

How are you creating your future?

In what ways are the paths you are taking creating the best version of you possible?

For further thought:

“Any path is only a path, and there is no affront, to oneself or to others, in dropping it if that is what your heart tells you…. Look at every path closely and deliberately. Try it as many times as you think necessary. Then ask yourself, and yourself alone, one question…. Does this path have a heart? If it does, the path is good; if it doesn’t, it is of no use.” ~Carlos Castaneda

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

