There Is Power Within You

“The most common way people give up their power is by thinking they don’t have any.” ~Alice Walker…

You are not powerless. Yet when you accept as fact that you are powerless, not only do you condemn yourself to powerlessness, but also as pointed out above, you embrace that falsity as your reality. Maybe it is the easy way out. Maybe you feel powerless due to situations or outside influences. Or perhaps you truly do believe that you cannot make a difference.

Sometimes we spend so much of our energy trying to control things that are outside of our control, that we end up feeling powerless. But power is not exerting our will on things or forcing results in life. Power is the ability to bring good into this world–and we all have this power within us.

How do I utilize the power available to me in my life? Do I use it effectively, or is it often misdirected? I have the ability to reach hundreds of friends and family via the internet. The power to drive to and from places quickly–perhaps allowing me to make a difference in places that would otherwise be impossible. Do I spread love, compassion, and peace? Do I use my talents and abilities whenever I am able? Do I share wisdom and understanding with others in need? By being a good steward in life, my power becomes apparent to me and to all those around me.

Become aware of the power you hold within.

Questions to consider:

What do you think of yourself when you feel powerless?

In what ways might you redirect your power to use it more effectively?

How might you teach others to use their energy more effectively?

For further thought:

It does not take a great supernatural heroine or magical hero to save the world. We all save it every day, and we all destroy it–in our own small ways–by every choice we make and every tiniest action resulting from that choice.

The next time you feel useless and impotent, remember what you are in fact doing in this very moment. And then observe your tiny, seemingly meaningless acts and choices coalesce and cascade together into a powerful positive whole.

The world–if it could–will thank you for it. And if it does not… well, a true heroine or hero does not require it.

Vera Nazarian

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

