Knowing Which Way To Go

“Before you ask which way to go, remember where you’ve been.” ~ 
from “Stay Awake (Dreams Only Last For A Night)” by All Time Low …

I am not the same person I was five years ago, of that, I am sure. Not only has my physical appearance changed, but also my likes and dislikes, my outlook on life, my beliefs, my goals, and on and on. And I can say the same thing about that person and the person I was fifteen years ago. We live; we learn; we change; we grow. But as we move on, it is important to remain aware of the things we have already learned and established–lessons, feelings, beliefs, emotions–lest we forget. 

Do you ever find yourself making the same mistakes you have already made before? Perhaps you are not taking the time to “remember where you’ve been.” We all make mistakes… and that is ok. But we do not have to continue to make those same mistakes time and time again, for there really is no use travelling down the same paths we have travelled before, chasing ourselves in circles and wasting our time and energy. 

The lessons we have learned in life hold the potential growth necessary to move onward towards new and more purposeful adventures. Remember who you were and where you have been, so that when the time comes, you will know which way to go. 

Take a moment to reflect on your personal journey of growth. 

Questions to consider:

Why would we want to leave behind our pasts and not revisit them? 

How can we go about remembering important things from yesteryear? 

What are some benefits in giving respect towards our pasts? 

For further thought:

“There’s a word for it,” she told me, “in French, for when you have a lingering impression of something having passed by. Sillage. I always think of it when a firework explodes and lights up the smoke from the ones before it.”
“That’s a terrible word,” I teased. “It’s like an excuse for holding onto the past.”
“Well, I think it’s beautiful. A word for remembering small moments destined to be lost.” 
~Robyn Schneider

1 Comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

One response to “Knowing Which Way To Go

  1. Pingback: get caught at the crossroads | One Lifetime

Leave a Reply

