Water The Relationships In Your Life Like A Gardener Waters His Garden

“Love never dies a natural death. It dies because we don’t know how to replenish its source. It dies of blindness and errors and betrayals. It dies of illness and wounds; it dies of weariness, of witherings, of tarnishings.” ~Anais Nin …

It can be easy to forget that love needs nourishment in our lives. We get busy… we get preoccupied with things… we get distracted and lose focus of what really matters in life… and love suffers. And as Anais points out, it suffers not because that is the natural course of love, but rather because we fail to “replenish its source.”

When I look at the relationships in my life that require my love, I can see the resemblance to a gardener and his garden. We, like plants and flowers, require nourishment and care so that we can grow, flourish, and produce for others. If I were to plant a flower in a pot, and only water it for a week, it would begin to wither and fade away. Love is the same way… it requires our constant tending.

Show love to those around you each day. Reaffirm with compassion the loving bonds of friendship you share. No man needs to be a desolate place, a desert of pain. We hold the waters of love within–share and receive this nourishment graciously each day.

Water the relationships in your life with love today.

Questions to consider:

How can you give and receive strength through love today?

Do you find it easy to feel love for others, or difficult? Is it always easy to share the love you feel?

Are others always receiving of the love you give them? Do they give it back?

For further thought:

“I am nothing special, of this I am sure. I am a common man with common thoughts and I’ve led a common life. There are no monuments dedicated to me and my name will soon be forgotten, but I’ve loved another with all my heart and soul, and to me, this has always been enough.” ~Nicholas Sparks, The Notebook

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

