Let Us View Our Meals As An Opportunity To Give Our Lord Praise

“Let us not take what we eat for granted; let us view our meals as an opportunity to give our Lord praise.” ~Dillon Burroughs …

“Give us this day our daily bread.” Most of us know the feeling of being without something we want or desire. However, for how many of us has that thing been a necessity of life such as food or water? So many people–who are less fortunate than us–will spend the majority of this day just trying to survive. And if I allow myself to be aware of this truth as I fulfill my own daily needs, I cannot help but be filled with gratitude for the many gifts I have been blessed with this day.

How often do I give thanks and praise for the food I have before me? Do I eat quickly or wastefully, oblivious to the emotions that I should be feeling? Do I allow my mind to be preoccupied with thoughts, without taking even a brief moment to feel blessed? We have the opportunity to rejoice and give thanks with every meal we eat. And if I can make it a habit to say thank you for the food I am eating, the meals themselves will take on much greater meaning. The foods and liquids are no longer just dinner or supper, but gifts from the planet we live upon. They are animals, plants, fruits, vegetables, seeds, and water–energy that is necessary for life to sustain itself.

I must make it a priority to rejoice… for I do not have to hunger this day. My needs have been met; my cup is full.

Celebrate all the food and drink you consume.

Questions to consider:

When was the last time you truly rejoiced for the food before you?

How can we come to enrich our lives through regular celebration for the food we eat?

How many things must happen for us to have the food we have before us? The meat? The milk or juice? The vegetables and fruits? The cheese?

For further thought:

And when you crush an apple with your teeth, say to it in your heart:
Your seeds shall live in my body,
And the buds of your tomorrow shall blossom in my heart,
And your fragrance shall be my breath,
And together we shall rejoice through all the seasons.

Khalil Gibran

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

