Your “Full Measure”

“The full measure of a man is not to be found in the man himself, but in the colors and textures that come alive in others because of him.” – Albert Schweitzer …

Many of the things we accomplish during our lives will receive the recognition and thanks of others. Yet this is not always the case, for perhaps some of the greatest accomplishments of ours will never even be known, and that is ok. When we improve the lives of those around us, and succeed in making the world a better and more positive place for humanity, the “colors and textures” we add to life enrich the experience for us all.

According to Albert, my “full measure” can be determined both by the sum of my accomplishments, as well as my contributions to the success and achievements of others. Additionally, my potential impact is compounded–like interest–as they share their potential and talents with others in their lives. I could therefore say what I share with others, grows exponentially.

What have I currently shared with others today? What am I going to accomplish with the rest of the day? If I focus on adding to the positive, I can brighten my life and the lives of others, while at the same time contributing to the greater good. What would life be like if I painted all my interactions with others with the beautiful colors of compassion, caring, helpfulness, understanding, and love?

Help someone discover some positive “colors and textures” in their life today.

Questions to consider:

What can you give to others today on a personal scale?

How can others benefit from what you have to give today?

In what ways can giving of ourselves add to the measure of who we are?

For further thought:

“Human beings are the only ones in nature who are aware that they will die. For that reason and only for that reason, I have a profound respect for the human race, and I believe that its future is going to be much better than its present. Even knowing that their days are numbered and that everything will end when they least expect it, people make of their lives a battle that is worthy of a being with eternal life. What people regard as vanity–leaving great works, having children, acting in such a way as to prevent one’s name from being forgotten–I regard as the highest expression of human dignity.” – Paulo Coelho, The Pilgrimage

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

