Fearlessly Engage Yourself!

“I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain.” – Frank Herbert, Dune

As Frank says, “I must not fear.” I should choose to face my fears, to experience them and then pass them by… but I must not allow fear to exist as a determining factor within my mind. If I am able to do so, my fear will no longer exist, its purpose expired, it will fade away, and “only I will remain.”

Control in our life is ours. Sure, I can choose to live my life in a way that allows fear to rule me–I can pass over opportunities that lie before me; I can harken down the worn paths avoiding any unexpected journeys; I can even choose to spend my life accumulating material things for myself. But the question I must then ask myself is this: “Will I be happy with the way my life is going to turn out if I continue to live it this way?”

Peace and happiness come to us from a life lived beyond the fears that keep us locked on an island by ourselves. We find them through the journeys we experience, in the bonds of humanity that we build and embrace with compassion and love, and in the deepness of value and worth we come to find in our lives.

Fear really is a “little-death” that ceaselessly feeds us from the stagnant waters of misery and frustration. It wants to control us; and if we let it, it will leave us isolated and alone. Yet if we face our fears each day, little by little our mind will become clearer. And at the end, the fear will be gone… and only we will remain.

Fearlessly engage yourself in the life around you.

Questions to consider:

Can you think of ways in which fear has determined your actions in certain situations?

How do things turn out when you obey your fear instead of your conscience?

By overcoming our fears, where have they gone? Where are we?

For further thought:

“There is only one thing that makes a dream impossible to achieve: the fear of failure.” – Paulo Coelho

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

