Choose To Act–As Best You Know How

“In any moment of decision, the best thing you can do is the right thing. The worst thing you can do is nothing.” – Theodore Roosevelt …

How many times have I found myself failing to act simply because I was afraid I would be wrong, or that I would be made fun of, or any number of similar reasons? Here, Theodore is imploring us to act; he is telling us that any action is better than no action. Sure, not all of my decisions will be correct… for no one is perfect. However, if I act according to my beliefs, then perhaps I will do the right thing… whereas if I do not act, the right thing has no chance at all.

When we let fear keep us from acting, we lose the opportunity to learn what it is like to make a decision that is right, a decision that is effective, or a decision that is helpful. Instead, we defer our decisions and delegate our responsibilities in life to others.

Perhaps I will be wrong–I hold no illusions that all of my decisions are the best course of action. But at least I am trying and perhaps giving the “right thing” a fighting chance. This additionally helps to ensure that I will have no regrets later on for missing an important opportunity to make a decision that affects my life–or the life of someone I love–directly.

Being right is something I can be proud of; being wrong is something I can learn from; not doing anything is something I most likely will regret. And of course, in recognizing this truth, we are nearly there.

Choose to act–as best you know how–in all your decisions today.

Questions to consider:

Why does our culture value being “right” so much? How does this value system affect the things we do? The things we do not do?

Is it as hard to act if being absolutely right about it is not one of the criteria that we attach to our decision?

Think of someone who gets a lot accomplished. How does this person go about making decisions? How does he or she react when a particular decision turns out to have been the wrong one?

For further thought:

“Don’t confuse poor decision-making with destiny. Own your mistakes. It’s ok; we all make them. Learn from them so they can empower you!” – Steve Maraboli

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

