If You Fail, Try Again…!

“All of old. Nothing else ever. Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try again. Fail again. Fail better.” – Samuel Beckett …

I have to admit, it took a few times reading this before I felt comfortable with it, and by then, it had already grown on me. I feel the meaning of what Samuel says here is most apparent in its latter half: “No matter. Try again. Fail again. Fail better.” There are times in my life where I feel like I am just beating my head against the wall–that it is another day, but the same old thing. But if I look at in perspective, that is not the case. I will experience many failures in life–most likely multitudes more than the number of successes. However, it is through my persistence that I will find success; with each failure comes progress.

Therefore, the success I find in the things I undertake, ultimately relies upon the attitudes I embrace. Even if I am making progress towards success, if I accept that I will not succeed, and embrace a defeatist attitude, then I have already been defeated. It is the attitude of winners that looks for even the slightest of progress in each attempt, and knows that it has been worth the while, that the effort was not in vain.

Failure does not matter in life. We will all face it. What does matter is what we do when we are confronted with it: give up or persevere onward. I will try again. I will probably fail again. But when I do, I will “fail better” than I did before.

Attempt something you have failed and have recently giving up on.

Questions to consider:

Why have results become so important in our culture?

Can you think of times when you have persevered even when it had looked like things were not working, and you finally hit the point at which they did work? How did that feel?

How do we distinguish between the times we should persevere and those in which we should move on to something else?

For further thought:

“Rivers know this: there is no hurry. We shall get there some day.” – A.A. Milne

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

