The Challenge Of Unconditional Giving

“You often say; I would give, but only to the deserving. The trees in your orchard say not so, nor the flocks in your pasture. Surely he who is worthy to receive his days and nights is worthy of all else from you. And he who has deserved to drink from the ocean of life deserves to fill his cup from your little stream. See first that you yourself deserve to be a giver, and an instrument of giving. For in truth it is life that gives unto life–while you, who deem yourself a giver, is but a witness.” – Kahlil Gibran …..

Who am I to judge the value of another human life? To determine who is deserving of my generosity and who is not worthy of it? If I attach such conditions to my giving, it is no longer a gift from the heart. And if a human is worthy enough to have life on this Earth–if he “has deserved to drink from the ocean of life”–then he too should be worthy of all that I am able to give.

By giving conditionally, I am making myself less of a man–I am diminishing the power I have as a giver and relegating myself to the position of merely a “witness.” As Kahlil points out, “it is life that gives unto life.” Therefore, if I determine who is worthy of my giving, and who is not, then I am not truly giving. Instead, I am retaining a bit of selfishness, for I am unwilling to give freely and fully from my heart.

At times, it can be difficult for me to give of myself unconditionally to others. But that is what is asked of each of us. True giving requires our gifts to come from the heart, without judgment, without condition, without reservation. If we can find ourselves in such a place, we will also find that we are contributing to the peace and the love of all of humanity.

Give to others freely without placing conditions on your gifts.

Questions to consider:

Can you give to those who you feel are unworthy of your giving? Why do you feel that way?

When you give to someone else, do you ever place conditions on your giving?

How can we learn to give freely to others? What are the benefits of doing so?

For further thought:

“Love your neighbor, even the ones who do not show you the same courtesy. You can’t expect to receive love if you’re selective and not really willing to give it. What you put into the world, you will indeed get back, even if it’s not from the person you’re expecting it to be.” – Alexandra Elle, Words from a Wanderer

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

