Put Your Heart Into All You Do

“My meaning simply is, that whatever I have tried to do in life, I have tried with all my heart to do well; that whatever I have devoted myself to, I have devoted myself to completely; that in great aims and in small, I have always been thoroughly in earnest.” – Charles Dickens …..

We are each called to greatness. And by greatness, I do not mean the type that brings us fame, fortune, or power, for there is much greatness to be found in the common person as well. Rather, as Charles is hinting towards here, we each have the ability to give our best efforts in whatever we do in life–be that great or small–and have a great impact.

I love to think of this greatness as our ability to make the world a better place for others and ourselves. How well do I achieve such greatness? Do I seek it each day? Do I seek it with all my heart and devote myself to it? Sure, I can get by in life by simply meeting the basic requirements necessary for survival–food, clothing, shelter–but how will doing so help me to realize growth and personal fulfillment?

Greatness requires us to make demands of ourselves–hard work, focus, and perseverance. Thus to find it, we need to have a desire for life and a passion for excellence. If we have these, we have the ingredients necessary to make something more of our lives, something that we see as special and that contributes to the world on a greater level.

Do you aspire to greatness? Are you putting forth enough effort to bring it about? The truth is that our impact on the world around us is determined each day by the choices we make.

Put your heart into all you do daily.

Questions to consider:

How can we determine whether the quality of the work we are doing is excellent or common?

Why do some people wish to do things well, with all their heart, while others do not care to do so?

How much control do we have over the work others do? Over their desire to work well or not?

For further thought:

“If a man is called to be a street sweeper, he should sweep streets even as a Michaelangelo painted, or Beethoven composed music or Shakespeare wrote poetry. He should sweep streets so well that all the hosts of heaven and earth will pause to say, ‘Here lived a great street sweeper who did his job well.” – Martin Luther King, Jr.

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

