Slow Down And Live Life Fully

“Slow down and enjoy life. It’s not only the scenery you miss by going to fast–you also miss the sense of where you are going and why.” – Eddie Cantor

Life can be busy. And in the midst of the hustle and bustle of it all, I am often surprised when I happen to notice even one single marvelous wonder out of the plethora of wonderful things around me at that very moment. At times I tend to get in a hurry, missing much of “the scenery” of life. Being so busy and preoccupied tends to leave me lost on paths I forgot why I was going down–or had not even intended on going down–in the first place.

Who do I wish to become? What do I wish to accomplish with my life? Do I ever take the time to stop and think about these questions critically? This is the busyness that Eddie is talking about; the kind where the life I find myself living is not contributing a whole lot towards the vision I have of my life and who I am.

“Slow down and enjoy life.” Quite possibly the wisest words I will hear during my time here. And when the scenery seems to be passing me by in a blur, and I feel I cannot slow down because of all the demands of life, this is a perfect time for me to question those demands: Just how pressing are they? Are they really worth the costs?

We often feel that because we are busying ourselves with activities and tasks, we are working towards our goals and our purpose in life. But living our lives to the fullest requires more involvement–more awareness and direction on our part–than simple keeping ourselves busy.

Take some time to slow down and truly experience the life you are living.

Questions to consider:

Have you ever felt that you “missed the sense of where you were going and why?”

What do you tell people when you see them missing or not appreciating wonderful things? Do you give yourself this same advice?

What things are your enjoying in life that help reinforce your sense of where you are going and why?

For further thought:

“Always remember to slow down in life; live, breathe, and learn; take a look around you whenever you have time and never forget everything and every person that has the least place within your heart.” – unattributed

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

