Living In God

“Let every creature have your love. Love, with its fruits of meekness, patience, and humility, is all that we can wish for ourselves and our fellow creatures. For this is to live in God, united with him, both for time and eternity. To desire to communicate good to everyone, in the degree that we can and to which each person is capable of receiving from us, is a divine temper, for thus God stands unchangeably disposed towards the whole creation.” – William Law

I never really took the time to think about what it means to “live in God”–about the concept of being united with Him in my current existence on this Earth. Generally, it is far easier to imagine Him in a spiritual realm of existence, an existence that is separate from what I experience in my day-to-day life. But here, William mentions what others who are much wiser than I have mentioned throughout history–that wherever there is love, God exists.

I recall something I read a few years back that I feel is closely related to William’s words: that God is love. And I really like this idea of God, for if I wish to live my life in God, I do not have to follow any specific faith or religion; I do not have to practice or worship in any specific way; I do not even have to believe the things others tell me I must believe. To live my life in God, all I have to do is love.

A life in God does not produce power, fame, or riches. Instead, it is a life of humility and meekness, of patience and understanding, of compassion and love–a life that gives positively to others in this world.

We are not so far removed from unity with God. The more we live in love, the more like Him we become, and the result of which is the growth of love in this world–a growth that multiplies exponentially with each act of kindness, compassion, and love that we share.

Share love with others whenever the opportunity presents itself and in fact, create the atmosphere for it.

Questions to consider:

How have you spread love today? How can you be a role model of love to others?

How have others spread love to you?

What would this world be like if we were to “communicate good to everyone?”

For further thought:

“You must learn day by day, year by year to broaden your horizon. The more things you love, the more you are interested in, the more you enjoy, the more you are indignant about–the more you have left when anything happens.” – Ethel Barrymore

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Food For Thought, Living, Opinion

Leave a Reply

